black coffee: commentary on culture – for colored girls

(I have been holding my comments on the new Tyler Perry film, “For Colored Girls”, as if I’m holding my breathe to cure the hiccups, because I didn’t want to succumb to the negativity that surrounded the movie, due to what I like to think of as ignorance of a new generation and a lack of culture outside of the immediate pop culture.  However, I had to burst, today, and say my peace on the topic, “For Colored Girls”, which to me, was a fantastic movie that said a whole lot about Black women, and our struggles and triumphs in this world. And to the men, it wasn’t about you, so please get over yourselves!  And to the men, if you did see yourselves or other men you know in the film, then instead of bashing us for it, please go talk to those men and help correct the behavior. )

So, here is my commentary, in response to a Facebook conversation thread that one of my friends from college posted that I just absolutely had to respond to:

I, too, am a poet and a colored girl and I absolutely loved the film and I challenge those who didn’t understand it to see it again through a different lense, an artistic lense. You can’t go in thinking it’s …another typical Perry movie or you will be sadly disappointed. You also can’t go in close-minded to art and poetry. I think some folks are so used to reading this new genre of “urban lit” (which I hate), that they can’t recognize true black art. I need some people to do their research on the Black Arts Movement and understand that we are more than the Def Poetry Jam and Wocka Flocka Flames of today! I encourage people who don’t understand to, how about this, actually READ the original book, For Colored Girls Who Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf” for yourselves. It’s what’s known as a “choreopoem” (look it up).  It further fascinates me that the same people who will dis Perry for using the mantra of “colored girls” will be the same people to use the “N-word” and “B-word” to describe every black person they see, but somehow, with not an artistic bone in their body, don’t see what the term “colored” even truly means. If we can embrace all of these other negative names, why can’t we embrace this word “colored” and value it in an artistic forum? Wow!

For Colored Girls, film by Tyler Perry

For Colored Girls, Book by Ntozake Shange, 1977

2 thoughts on “black coffee: commentary on culture – for colored girls

  1. Thank you I too share your ideas on the film. I thought that you coined some excellent points ,bravo to you for standing up for this film and what it portrays.

    Myra King
    Ohio

  2. Thank you Myra. And thank you for the support. I think it’s outrageous that we live in an age where folks are so jaded by the bad art that’s out there, that they can’t appreciate good art and don’t, unfortunately, understand the historical significance of some of our art, like what Ntozake Shange created in 1977. What she created was no different than what they see on Def Poetry Jam or at local coffeehouses in NYC or DC but since it’s foreign to them they choose not to understand and embrace it. But these are the same people who listen to the wack rap music and wouldn’t know real hip hop or real poetry for that matter, if it smacked them in the face.

    Again, thanks for your comments and be sure to follow my blog on Facebook, http://apps.facebook.com/blognetworks/blog/lifestyle30/ or subscribe directly at http://www.lifestyle30.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment

