21 Days: My Yoga: African American Yoga Instructors You Should Know

For some reason there is a myth out there that Black people don’t do yoga and that it’s just for other limber and flexible folks. Well, the other day I was searching online for African American yoga instructors and below are four that I ran across, Faith Hunter, Ananda Leeke, The Yoga Skills Center (they teach and practice the art of Kemetic yoga and takes groups on journeys to Egypt and Jamaica), and Robin Downes (yoga instructor to the Stars!).  Finding these people has been very inspiring and helps make me want to make a deeper cultural connection to the art and practice of yoga.  I’m especially excited about learning more about Kemetic yoga. Oh, and thanks again, for following me on My Yoga journey!

 

My Twitter post from Jan 21:  Excited about discovering African American yoga instructors @ @ @ @ w/their own twist on yoga  (be sure to follow them on Twitter)

 

Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/ivywriter

Thanks for reading!

ivywriter

8 thoughts on “21 Days: My Yoga: African American Yoga Instructors You Should Know

  1. Greeting Ivy Writer,

    Sincere appreciation for seeking me out and sharing my information. I am always delighted to share the Yoga journey with Flava! Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or other ways that I may be of service. I have several Yoga Flava Video Snacks – for when you want a taste – you can subscribe for free to support your home practice. I recently created a video with movement you can do while sitting in front for your computer – http://www.youtube.com/yogaflava

    Sending positive and prosperous vibes – Robin

  2. Pingback: Black Yoga Instructors You Should Know [VIDEO] | ELEV8

  3. Pingback: Black Yoga Instructors You Should Know [VIDEO] | WCHBNewsDetroit - WCHB 1200

  4. Pingback: Black Yoga Instructors You Should Know [VIDEO] | HotSpotATL - Hot 107.9 Atlanta's Home for the Hip-Hop Community

  5. Pingback: Black Yoga Instructors You Should Know [VIDEO] | MajicATL - Majic 107.5 & 97.5 Atlanta's Home for the Adult Urban Community

  6. Pingback: Black Yoga Instructors You Should Know [VIDEO] | WCHBNewsDetroit - WCHB 1200

  7. Pingback: Black Yoga Instructors You Should Know [VIDEO] | PraiseHouston - Praise 92.1 Houston's Home for the Gospel Community

Leave a Comment

